Blue and green design with circles

Latin America and the Caribbean Faculty Advisory Committee

Latin America and the Caribbean Faculty Advisory Committee

The Faculty Advisory Committee for UC Davis Global Centers for Latin America and the Caribbean was is a standing committee, chaired by the Faculty Director of Global Centers for Latin America and the Caribbean Lovell "Tu" Jarvis, reporting to the Provost’s Working Group on UC Davis Global Centers, co-chaired by Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Ralph J. Hexter and Vice Provost and Dean of Global Affairs Joanna Regulska.

The committee was charged with providing strategic guidance and an implementation plan to ensure long-term sustainability and success of the Global Center in the region. The committee incorporated faculty interests and encourage engagement across disciplines, schools and colleges.

Committee Membership 

  • Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, Professor of Clinical Internal Medicine and Director of UC Davis Center for Reducing Health Disparities, UC Davis Health
  • Alan Bennett, Distinguished Professor of Plant Sciences and Executive Director of Public Intellectual Property Resource for Agriculture, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Leopoldo Bernucci, Distinguished Professor of Spanish and The Russell F. and Jean H. Fiddyment Chair in Latin American Studies, College of Letters and Science 
  • Patricia Conrad, Distinguished Professor of Parasitology and Associate Dean for Global Programs, School of Veterinary Medicine; Co-Director, UC Global Health Institute
  • Jesus De-Loera, Professor of Mathematics, College of Letters and Science 
  • Raissa D'Souza, Professor, Department of Computer Science, College of Letters and Science, and Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Liza Grandia, Associate Professor of Native American Studies, Director of the Indigenous Research Center of the Americas, Associate Director of the Native American Language Center, College of Letters and Science
  • Beth Greenwood, Associate Dean of International Programs, School of Law
  • Luis Guarnizo, Professor of Community and Regional Development, Department of Human Ecology, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Erin Hamilton, Associate Professor of Sociology, College of Letters and Science
  • Martin Hilbert, Professor of Communications, College of Letters and Science
  • Robert Irwin, Professor of Spanish and Co-Director of the Mellon Initiative in Comparative Border Studies, College of Letters and Science
  • John Largier, Professor of Environmental Science and Policy, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, and Associate Director of International Programs, Coastal and Marine Sciences Institute
  • Michael Lazarra, Professor of Latin American Literature and Cultural Studies, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Letters and Science, and Associate Vice Provost of Academic Programs, Global Affairs
  • Pablo Ortiz, Professor of Music, College of Letters and Science, and Chair of the Academic Senate Committee on International Education
  • Patricia Oteiza, Professor in the Department of Nutrition, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, and Nutritionist in Agricultural Experiment Station
  • Ana Peluffo, Professor of Spanish, College of Letters and Science
  • Geoff Schladow, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director of the Tahoe Environmental Research Center, College of Engineering
  • Marian Schlotterbeck, Assistant Professor of History, College of Letters and Science
  • Ed Taylor, Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Director of the Center on Rural Economies of the Americas and Pacific Rim, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 
  • Chuck Walker, Professor of History and Director of the Hemispheric Institute on the Americas, College of Letters and Science
  • Michael Wilkes, Professor and Director of Global Health Sciences, School of Medicine

More Information

Contact Information